Phoebe Throssel lives on Quality Street, the bustling hub of a quaint northern town where she runs a school for unruly children.

Ten years since a tearful goodbye, an old flame returns from fighting Napoleon. But the look of disappointment on Captain Valentine’s face when he greets a more mature, less glamorous Phoebe, spurs our determined heroine to action. She becomes the wild and sparkling Miss Livvy, a younger alter-ego who soon entraps the clueless Captain.

As their romance is rekindled, can she juggle both personas? Or will her deception scandalise the town and wreck any future with the man she loves? J.M. Barrie’s delicious farce, written years before his now much-loved Peter Pan, was so well known in its day that it gave its name to the UK’s most popular chocolates, made in Halifax since 1936.

In Laurie Sansom’s directorial debut for Northern Broadsides, this rare revival also features a commentary from the Quality Street™ factory workers, whose own stories of hapless romance and growing old disgracefully give the show a playful Yorkshire twist.

 

UK Tour 2020 Dates

Director Laurie Sansom

Designer Jessica Worrall

Sound Designer / Composer Nick Sagar

Casting Director Sarah Hughes CDG

Puppet Maker Beka Haigh

 

Cast to be announced soon

The Viaduct Theatre, Halifax

Fri 14 – Sat 22 Feb
01422 849 227

Liverpool Playhouse & Everyman

Tue 17 – Sat 21 Mar
0151 709 4776

Leeds Playhouse

Tue 21 – Sat 25 Apr

01132 137 700

Lawrence Batley Theatre

Wed 27 – Sat 30 May
01484 430 528

The Lowry, Salford

Tue 25 – Sat 29 Feb
0343 208 6011

Northern Stage, Newcastle upon Tyne

Tue 24 – Sat 28 Mar
0191 230 5151

New Vic Theatre

Tue 28 Apr – Sat 9 May
01782 717 962

Hull Truck Theatre

Tue 2 – Sat 6 June
01482 323 638

The Dukes, Lancaster

Tue 3 – Sat 7 Mar
01524 598 500

Yvonne Arnaud Theatre, Guildford

Tue 7 – Sat 11 Apr
01483 44 00 00

Stephen Joseph Theatre

Tue 12 – Sat 16 May
01723 370 541

York Theatre Royal

Tue 9 – Sat 13 June
01904 623 568

Theatre Royal, Bury St Edmunds

Tue 10 – Sat 14 Mar
01284 769 505

Derby Theatre

Tue 14 – Sat 18 Apr
01332 59 39 39

 

Harrogate Theatre

Tue 19 – Sat 23 May
01423 502 116

Northern Broadsides Presents

Christmas Broadsides

Friday 13 – Sunday 15 December
The Viaduct Theatre, Halifax

Directed by Laurie Sansom
Featuring Alice Jones

Folk songs and stories told in the heart of Halifax this Christmas.

Join Rippondon-based Folk singer and multi-instrumentalist Alice Jones for a celebration of Christmas with a Northern Broadsides twist. Also performing will be musicians from other cultures who have been recently granted asylum in Halifax.

Enjoy traditional festive songs and stories based on Broadsides Ballads all performed live in the atmospheric underground Viaduct Theatre, Dean Clough.

All proceeds from ticket sales and donations will support Northern Broadsides’ creative playwriting project, ensuring we can support and develop diverse new voices for the stage. Donate online at: northern-broadsides.co.uk/support 

Tickets: £15

Family Tickets (4 people, at least one under 16): £50